Gorgeous, gorgeous words that stick in my head all day: “Mississippi Delta was shining like a national guitar/I am driving down the highway following the river into the cradle of the civil war” and “Losing love is like a window in your heart/Everyone can see you’re blown apart…” Both are lyrics from “Graceland”, a song and an album I am just discovering after all these years. I picked up after spending about three days with Simon and Garfunkel’s Greatest Hits in my CD player, hitting the back button to replay “America”. For some reason, the line “It took four days to hitchhike from Saginaw” makes the back of my head tingle.

I told my husband how obsessed I was with that song, and he just starts quoting lines from Almost Famous, the scene where the sister drives off with her boyfriend, leaves behind her records for William to discover. When I was done rolling my eyes at him for ruining MY moment with the song, he said, “Why don’t you go get Graceland on your lunch hour today?”

So thats what I did. I got Blue Horse by the Be Good Tanyas and Loretta Lynn’s new album as well. Listening to all this sad folkie stuff that makes me feel happier. People singing about what’s beautiful in life.

On Friday night, O. invited me out to my favourite club in Vancouver, The Railway Club, to hear some rockabilly bands. I don’t remember much about them now, maybe I drank too many big glasses of Grasshopper, but I do remember meeting a friend of her friend who makes purses out of old album covers. I want her to make me one with John Denver on it.

The sadness is still with me, though, as if I still have a lot of retail therapy left to do.

