Someone at this assignment asked me if anyone had been really mean to me while temping. I immediately thought of an Exhibit F in our cavalcade of bitchy publicists, a West Vancouver bottle-blonde in charge of marketing for an office design company where I was sent to play receptionist. In keeping with their line of business, it was an open concept, no cubicles office, and too-good-for-you-Sue sat by the window (the better to catch the expensive highlights in her hair?), right in my lowly line of vision. She usually ignored any calls I put through so that I had to push five more buttons send them to voice mail. When she got up from her desk to talk to the other important hoohahs, she would stare at me with inexplicable disdain. I was only there for a day or so and she spent most of it at lunch, so what was her problem?

