Today I am a bottomless pit.

I have eaten half a small bag of Tomato Basil Pretzels, 1 Brandy Filled Chocolate, 1 Ferrero Rocher, 3 pistachios, several handfuls of Dan-D-Pak rice crackers, 1 strawberry glazedTimBit, 1 Purdy’s chocolate Santa, a dinner of spaghetti and meatballs(5), and 1 mandarin orange. I am currently defrosting some smoked salmon to eat with crackers and cream cheese.

This is not an eating disorder diary.

Every time I shove some of the plentiful supply of food in my kitchen into my mouth, I see on the news more images of the tragic situation in Southeast Asia. And I think of doing something for the Red Cross and then mentally calculate how much money is owed to Visa right now.

Yesterday I ate fries at A+W and watched the news about people without any food or shelter. The guy at the counter was watching the news between customers and because he looked Asian with darker skin I wondered if he had family and friends there whose fates were as yet unknown.

B2 over at Weirdsmobile put things into perspective. Why do people that can afford it least get hit so damn hard?

