Maktaaq memed me! I feel so special!

You’re stuck inside Fahrenheit 451, which book do you want to be? (assuming this is a question about burning a book):
I never read Fahrenheit 451 – it was assigned as part of a English 10 unit on science fiction, and I chose another book, can’t remember what – but this question is about a book I’d love to banish from the face of the earth for its pointlessness and mediocrity?
The
Posh Spice autobiography that came out a few years ago comes to mind. Oooh, the supermodels are mean to me. Its so tough travelling the world and not seeing my boyfriend! Look how vulnerable and sad I am on the cover. Waa waa waa. Go make a video with Britney Spears.


Have you ever had a crush on a fictional character?
He’s not entirely fictional, but as I read Kitchen Confidential, I was lusting after Anthony Bourdain’s swashbuckling, party animal/junkie/workaholic chef alter ego. By the end of the tale, he’s still tough and crusty but you can tell he has a real love for both his staff and his food.
I like to be the person who can reach the tender underbelly of big tough men.

The last book you bought is:
Geisha by Liza Dalby, at the fabulous Macleod’s Books in Vancouver. I wanted a copy of this book for so long and poof! it came to me! It’s geeky how excited that made me.

The last book you read:
Fear of Falling: The Inner Life of the Middle Class by Barbara Ehrenreich. I’m on a kick with her work right now. I’m always picking up Nickel and Dimed and reading bits and pieces.

What are you currently reading?
For Her Own Good by Barbara Ehrenreich. It just came out in a new edition, but I’m reading the 1979 version from the library. It’s a history of “expert” advice to women in America.

Five books you would take to a deserted island:
1. Blank journals. Do multiples count? (insight and analysis)
2. Delta of Venus by Anais Nin (sex)
3. The Gallery of Regrettable Food by James Lileks (laughter)
4. The Joy of Cooking (you never know, I might need to look up how to roast a pig or debone a marlin) (food)
5. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck (inspiration and frustration)


Who are you going to pass this stick to (3 persons) and why?
Ryan because he’s indescribably interesting
Zoe (via email) because she’s a writer and book-smart too.
Amy (via email) because she’s a lawyer with impeccable taste
and lots of opinions.

