Ok, I’d unofficially decided to stop falling for these “What Kind of Blogger are you” quiz meme madnesses, but when personally tapped by inimitable chicken and frog photographer Ms. Rurality with a book quiz meme, I could not resist. So here you go, catch!

1. Total # of Books I’ve Owned
Ever? You’re joking right? Well, as a rough estimate, there are probably about 400 books in the house right now, plus magazines. Then there are boxes of books from when I was a kid at the folks’ place.
Let me give you some advice here: don’t lend your books out. Don’t trust anyone with your babies. But feel free to winnow out the crap, like old statistics texts, at garage sales. People will buy anything.

2. Last Book I Bought
A copy of VC Andrews Dark Angel at the bowling alley for $0.25.

3. Last Book I Read
Whoops, got distracted by Star Magazine. I’m currently reading The Terror that Comes in the Night, which I mentioned before in a post about sleep paralysis aka “The Old Hag”. It is probably one of the only full-length books out there on the subject. Academic, but accessible.

4. Five Books That Mean A Lot To Me

East of Eden by John Steinbeck (and The Grapes of Wrath, but I read East of Eden first.)
Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto. A gem of a novel, and its just so sad nothing she’d written since has measured up. I keep buying her books anyway. It’s a wonderful fable about how food brings people together.
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. It’s a love story and tragedy, and for some reason I always wanted to be Daisy Buchanan, dark and lithe and mysterious and desired.
Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser, because it has forever changed the way I think about the food chain.
and 5? Maybe I should mention Susan Orlean’s Saturday Night. It’s a collection of essays on how people spend Saturday night. And that’s all. Or Adrian Tomine’s Optic Nerve series because its brilliant visual storytelling.

5. Tag Five People with this list
Awww, man. Who hasn’t been tagged?
How about, if you don’t copy this to your blog and fill in the blanks right now something very bad will happen. Or not. Wait ten minutes and see.
Copy and paste at your leisure, my gorgeous, hip, happening readers.

